Your search did not yield any results

Site Pages

Dr. Galv KnowledgeBase


The American Galvanizers Association (AGA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2023 Galvanize the Future: A Richard L. Brooks Memorial Scholarship essay contest. Two students were selected from applicants enrolled in architecture, construction, or engineering programs in colleges throughout North America.

Justina Starrad is currently working on her Masters Degree in Urban Design at Washington University St. Louis. In her essay, Justina convinced a fictitious management team that hot-dip galvanized steel is the best corrosion protection system to withstand the rigors of the corrosive marine environment in New Orleans, LA. She used the AGA's Architecturally Exposed Structural Steel Specifier's Guide to provide an an attractive exterior finish for the façade in her Dixieland Museum.

J Starrad
Justina Starrad

Madelyn Heckert is currently completing her Bachelors Degree in Engineering and Environmental Science from Portland State University. In her essay, Madelyn evaluated steel corrosion protection systems from a sustainability point of view. Madelyn successfully made her case on why HDG steel is sustainable using specific information from the AGA site on how it can decrease social, economic and environmental impacts on society.

Madelyn Heckert

The current and past scholarship winners can be viewed on the AGA’s website. The AGA’s scholarship program is named in honor of the late Richard Brooks of Duncan Galvanizing in Boston, MA. Brooks was a great advocate in the galvanizing industry and integral to shaping the AGA into the organization it is today.

The 2024 Galvanize the Future: A Richard L. Brooks Memorial Scholarship, will award two $2,500 prizes. The scholarship is open to any college students majoring in architecture, civil engineering or structural engineering, construction management, material science or other approved engineering fields. The student can be full or part time, and enrolled in either an undergraduate or graduate degree program at any four year university in North America. For more information on the scholarship or to apply, please visit