Your search did not yield any results

Site Pages

Dr. Galv KnowledgeBase


The American Galvanizers Association (AGA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2021 Galvanize the Future: A Richard L. Brooks Memorial Scholarship essay contest. Two students were selected from applicants enrolled in architecture, construction, or engineering programs in colleges throughout North America.

Hannah Power is currently working on her Doctorate in Philosophy in Civil Engineering from the University of Delaware. She addressed the varying appearances of hot-dip galvanized components and how to achieve a uniform and attractive building façade that follows the AESS requirements and achieves a maintenance free, structurally sound, and corrosion resistant product.  

Hpower Winner

Saben Nusbaum is currently working on his Bachelors Degree in Landscape Architecture from Ball State University. His essay provides insight on why HDG steel is the best product for a roadway's guardrail including the low up-front cost, low life-time cost, recyclability and resilience. 

Nusbaum Winner

The current and past scholarship winners can be viewed on the AGA’s website. The AGA’s scholarship program is named in honor of the late Richard Brooks of Duncan Galvanizing in Boston, MA. Brooks was a great advocate in the galvanizing industry and integral to shaping the AGA into the organization it is today.

The 2022 Galvanize the Future: A Richard L. Brooks Memorial Scholarship, will award two $2,500 prizes. The scholarship is open to any college students majoring in architecture, civil engineering or structural engineering, construction management, material science or other approved engineering fields. The student can be full or part time, and enrolled in either an undergraduate or graduate degree program at any four year university in North America. For more information on the scholarship or to apply, please visit