Your search did not yield any results

Site Pages

Dr. Galv KnowledgeBase


David Amorim
First Place, David Amorim

The American Galvanizers Association (AGA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2015 Galvanize the Future: An Edgar K. Schutz Memorial Scholarship essay contest. Three students were selected from applicants enrolled in architecture, construction, or engineering programs in colleges throughout North America.

Securing the first place prize of $2500 is David Amorim, a student earning his Masters of Science Degree in Civil Engineering at the University of Manitoba. David is a second time recipient of the award and his winning essay provided a thorough evaluation of structural steel coating alternatives. He proposed a final recommendation of a Duplex System for use on exposed structural steel for the fictional Winnipeg Blue Bombers Stadium, offering drastically improved resistance to corrosion.

Lripley  Photo
Second Place, Laura Ripley

The second place winner of a $1,500 scholarship is Laura Ripley, a Civil Engineering student at Columbia University.  Laura compared various methods of corrosion protection to arrive at her decision of what to specify for a steel bridge project, given very specific parameters of design life, location, and climate. 

The third place winner, Christina Biasiucci, was awarded a $1,000 scholarship.  Christina is currently earning her Masters of Architecture at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Christina put together an extensive theoretical proposal for the Lions National Football Stadium, going into great detail of why a Duplex system should be implemented for the highly corrosive and abrasive environment.  She explained in depth the strategy, application and maintenance of hot-dip galvanizing and how it combats the seriousness of corrosion to structural steel.

Christina Biasiucci
Third Place, Christina Biasiucci

The winners and their essays may be viewed on our Current Winners Page. The Galvanize the Future scholarship is open to any college students majoring in architecture, civil engineering or structural engineering, and has recently widened to include construction management, material science or other approved engineering fields. The student can be full or part time, and enrolled in either an undergraduate or graduate degree program at any four year university in North America. For more information on next year’s program, visit the AGA’s scholarship page